The McCarthy – Kennicott Historical Museum is a small museum housed in the former Copper River & Northwestern Railroad depot in historic McCarthy, Alaska which is located in the heart of Wrangell-St. Elias National Park. The museum is a private non-profit all volunteer organization whose purpose is to preserve, document, and make available to the public and researchers the heritage of the McCarthy – Kennicott area including the Kennecott Mines National Historic Landmark managed by the National Park Service.
Our exhibits cover the history of the McCarthy-Kennicott area from the late 1800’s to the present. We preserve and display a wealth of fascinating photos, documents, and artifacts as well as a miniature model of historic McCarthy and a diorama of the Bonanza mine. Our cozy reading room full of books, papers, and DVD videos about the area is the perfect place for research, discovery, and entertainment. We also sell T-shirts, books, postcards, a great walking tour map of McCarthy, and other unique souvenirs.
PLAN YOUR VISIT:
We are open every summer from Memorial Day weekend through Labor Day. Hours vary.
The museum is located in the red railroad depot building, with a big rail car outside, at the intersection of the road to Kennicott and the road to the footbridge. Regular round-trip transportation to downtown McCarthy is available from the footbridge at the end of the McCarthy Road and from the Kennecott Mines National Historic Landmark.